Ol’ Jenny
Staff Photo Update March 2020
Gerdeman Ins Jan 2016
May 2019
Weekly Specials
January Start with us
Sheriff 2020 Rail
Briar Hill Health Update
Bowlus for Commish 2020
Logo Panel April 2017
BVH March 2020
Oct. 2018 Update
March 2020

Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees recognizes 2017 scholarship winners

NORTH BALTIMORE, OHIO – April 4, 2017 – On March 28, prior to its regular board meeting, the Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees recognized its 2017 scholarship winners in a special ceremony at the cooperative headquarters.


The first place winners are Haley Kieffer, Arcadia High School and Andrew Cheney, Arlington High School. Haley has narrowed her higher education choices down to The University of Tennessee and Auburn University. She plans to major in exploratory studies. Andrew is still undecided on his college of choice and he plans to major in chemical engineering. Both students will go on to compete at the statewide scholastic competition at Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives (OEC) in Columbus.


In second place is Cassandra Miller, Hardin Northern High School. Cassandra plans to attend The University of Findlay and major in pharmacy. The third place winner is Aaron Rode, McComb High School. Aaron plans to attend Trine University, majoring in chemical engineering. Chaise Pickens earned fourth place and attends Bowling Green High School and plans to major in biology. Fifth place winner is Dane Weickert, Findlay High School. Dane is still undecided on which college he is attending and will be majoring in sports business or marketing. The sixth place winner is Bailey Boyer, North Baltimore High School. Bailey will pursue her studies at The University of Findlay majoring in physical therapy.

From left, top row, Trustees Tom Kagy, David Corbin, Glenn Miller, Knut Lahrs, James Demler, Marlene Barker, William Kale, Tim Phillips, Tom Dierksheide, President and CEO George Walton and Trustee Ed Ingold, and; front row, scholarship and youth tour winners Samuel Stahl, Andrew Cheney, Cassandra Miller, Aaron Rode, Haley Kieffer, Dane Weickert, Chaise Pickens and Joseph Laborie. Not pictured: Bailey Boyer.

In addition, two high school students won a trip to Washington, D.C., as part of the co-op’s annual Youth Tour program and new this year, a scholarship of $500. Winners were Samuel Stahl, Arcadia High School, and Joseph Laborie, Elmwood High School.


Applications were screened by the scholarship committee for academic achievement including grade point average (GPA), ACT/SAT college test scores, presentation and the variety and quality of extracurricular and community activities.


Hancock-Wood operates on seven cooperative principles, including concern for community and education, training and information, which best support the rationale behind offering these younger member programs.


Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative, established April 20, 1938, serves portions of Hancock, Wood, Allen, Erie, Hardin, Henry, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca and Wyandot counties and remains dedicated to its commitment to the communities it serves. For more information about Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative, visit www.hwe.coop or call 800-445-4840.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NBX powered by PANDA Technologies
February 2017
NBLS Website